8-800-500-97-95

DISTINCTIVENESS OF TRADEMARKS, BRAND NAMES, COMMERCIAL EMBLEMS AND PACKAGES OF GOODS

You can use our Free Services to learn the possibilities of presenting evidence for your stand in a court or Rospatent with the help of sociological research when either defending the distinctiveness of your trademark, or when litigating a registration of somebody else’s commercial emblem which Does not have a distinctiveness.

zashita

 

PROVING A DISTINCTIVENESS IN COURT

There exists a provision of “acquired distinctiveness” in the legislation. It appears as a result of the active usage of a notation as a trademark. If a businessman introduces and promotes a notation into the market, creates a positive reputation for it, then this name performs the function of a trademark in a full sense (however, only in relation to a specific manufacturer). It is apparent that an originally un-registrable emblem has a chance to get registered, but the result of applying to Rospatent will largely depend on properly collected evidence. This evidence comprises the following:
1. Details about the goods: volumes of production and sales.
2. Information on how long this emblem was used in the commodity market.
3. Data on the expenses incurred for promotion of the goods marked with the said emblem.
4. Materials confirming the awareness of the customers, i.e. the results of a consumer survey.

DISTINCTIVENESS OF TRADEMARKS

Distinctiveness of a commercial emblem emerges when the customers begin to associate it with a particular company. Then it starts to identify a product or service. When collecting the documents, it is important to understand that the evidence to be presented to a court must refer to the period covering the time prior to the filing of the application. A study of sociological research allows you to collect the historical data, i.e. the information since what year the consumers remember a product / service or have been using the product / service.

In addition to confirming of distinctiveness, the results of the sociological research may be required to prove the loss of distinctiveness properties by a trademark. In such case, registration of the latter may be cancelled.

The Sociological Examination Laboratory has been presenting evidence for a number of lawsuits related to identifying of distinctiveness; some of which are the following:









More examples of using the sociological research as proof of a presence or absence of distinctiveness you can find here, or request them through the “Ask a question” form.

For more details, questions or place an order for a study,
please call (Tel.) 8-800-500-97-95 or inquire by e-mail to:info@socexpertiza.ru.

See also Sections «Art. 1483 of the Russian Federation Civil Code», «Art. 1512, 1514 of the Russian Federation Civil Code».

8-800-500-97-95

Вы здесь: Главная » Услуги

Различительная способность товарных знаков, фирменных наименований, коммерческих обозначений, упаковок товаров

В законодательстве есть положение о «приобретенной различительной способности». Она возникает в результате активного употребления обозначением в качестве товарного знака. Если бизнесмен внедрял на рынок обозначение, создавал положительную репутацию, то наименование стало в полном смысле выполнять функцию товарного знака (но только в связи с конкретным производителем). У изначально неохраноспособного обозначения есть шансы быть зарегистрированным при грамотно собранных доказательствах.

zashita

 

Доказательство различительной способности в суде

Вы можете воспользоваться нашими бесплатными услугами (экспертная оценка, пилотажное исследование), чтобы узнать о возможностях доказательства своей позиции в суде и Роспатенте с помощью социологических исследований как при отстаивании различительной способности вашего обозначения, так и при оспаривании регистрации чужого обозначения, не обладающего различительной способностью.

Результат обращения в Роспатент будет во многом зависеть от грамотно собранных доказательств. К их числу относятся:
1. Информация о товаре: объемах производства и продаж.
2. Сведения о времени использования обозначения на товарном рынке.
3. Данные о затратах на продвижение товаров, маркированных указанным обозначением.
4. Материалы, подтверждающие информированность покупателей — результаты опроса потребителей.

Различительная способность товарных знаков

Различительная способность обозначения наступает, если покупатели начинают ассоциировать его с определенной компанией. Тогда оно приобретает свойство индивидуализировать товар или услугу. При сборе документов важно помнить, что представляемые в суд доказательства должны относиться к периоду, охватывающему время до подачи заявки. Социологическое исследование позволяет собрать ретроспективные данные, т.е. информацию о том, с какого года потребители помнят товар / услугу или пользуются товаром / услугой.

Помимо подтверждения различительной способности, результаты социологического исследования могут потребоваться для доказательства потери товарным знаком различительной способности. В таком случае его регистрация может быть аннулирована.

Лаборатория социологической экспертизы предоставляла доказательства для ряда дел, связанных с определением различительной способности, среди которых можно назвать следующие:









Другие примеры из практики применения социологических исследований в качестве доказательств наличия или отсутствия различительной способности Вы можете найти здесь или запросить дополнительно через форму «Задать вопрос».

Чтобы получить подробную информацию, задать любые вопросы или заказать исследование,
позвоните по телефонам:
8-800-500-97-95
8-499-662-97-95 (экспертный отдел).

См. также разделы «Ст. 1483 ГК РФ», «Ст. 1512, 1514 ГК РФ».