8-800-500-97-95

BREACHING OF THE ACTS ‘ON ADVERTISING’ AND ‘ON PROTECTION OF COMPETITION’

 

Advertising that contravening the Federal Acts “On Advertising” and “On Protection of Competition” may be prohibited; that which would result in losses for a manufacturer in terms of fines, costs for making and launching a new publicity campaign, investment in restoration of good image and so forth. What can you do if your advertisement was recognized as dishonest and/or false, or you assume that it may be recognized as such? You should take advantage of our Free Services to find out whether there is an infringement of the advertising or competition laws. Depending on the results of the preliminary research you can decide what further steps to take.

BREACHING OF LEGISLATION ON ADVERTISING AND ON PROTECTION OF COMPETITION

 

BREACHING OF LEGISLATION ON ADVERTISING AND ON PROTECTION OF COMPETITION

The experts of the Federal Antimonopoly Service of Russia are authorized to prohibit advertisements that are breaching the law. The Act “On Advertising” stipulates that advertising must be fair, true and reliable. In addition, advertising must not encourage people to commit unlawful acts, call for violence and cruelty; bring up a negative attitude towards any group or population, nor use any foreign words and expressions, foul language, obscene and/or offensive images. (See details in Art. 5&6 of the Federal Act “On Advertising”, Art. 21 – 25 of the Federal Act “On Advertising”).

There is but one drawback in that impressive and detailed list of the provisions, i.e. a number of points have a vague or ambiguous interpretation. For example, how can one make sure the advertisement is neither offending of insulting someone’s feelings, nor calling for violence? The thing that in the manufacturer’s opinion may seem witty, not hackneyed and appealing to consumers, from the viewpoint of target audience can seem hurting and be a violation from the position of the law. In such cases results of sociological research are recognized as the most reliable source of information needed to prove a violation of or defend the rights.

SOCIOLOGICAL RESEARCH IN THE CASES OF BREACHING THE ADVERTISING ACT

A sociological examination of advertising is carried out in three cases.

1. Before a public broadcast. If you have concerns about breaking the law, then the results of sociological research will allow you to understand how the target audience perceives the advertisements and also figure out how the wording and visual images affect the behaviour of consumers. An expert report may become a trigger for the amendments or provide a basis for protection against any unreasonable protests of your competitors.

2. To file an application to the court. If you think that the advertisements of competitors could violate your rights in some way, you may apply to an arbitration court or the Federal Antimonopoly Service. Before doing that you must collect sufficient evidence. The data of sociological research or of laboratory experiment can be used as evidence.

3. After receiving a letter from the Federal Antimonopoly Service or by a court’s decision. If a court has banned your advertisement but you are willing to challenge their judgement, it is necessary to collect your evidences. The opinion of consumers is an objective criterion as opposed to an evaluation of a commercial when viewed by few experts of a department of the Federal Antimonopoly Service.

The techniques used by the Sociological Examination Laboratory of the Institute of Sociology are fully compliant with requirements of government authorities and quality standards for the sociological research. On our website, you can see one of the lawsuits for misleading consumers through advertising for which we provided the evidence. Back in year 2012, “Nestle Russia” applied to the Federal Antimonopoly Service with a claim to an advertising campaign of the Hipp baby food.

You can find more examples of using the sociological research as evidence in lawsuits here, or request them through the “Ask a question” form, or by telephone.

To learn more about compliance with and breaching of the Acts “On Advertising’ and “On Protection of Competition
please call us at (Tel). 8-800-500-97-95, or send e-mail to: info@socexpertiza.ru

8-800-500-97-95

Вы здесь: Главная » Услуги

Соответствие закону «О рекламе» и «О защите конкуренции»

 

Реклама, не отвечающая нормам федеральных законов «О рекламе» и «О защите конкуренции», может быть запрещена, что повлечет за собой убытки производителя в виде штрафов, затрат на выпуск новой рекламы, вложений в восстановление имиджа и пр. Что делать, если рекламу признали недобросовестной и/или недостоверной или у вас есть предположения, что ее могут признать таковой? Воспользуйтесь нашими бесплатными услугами, чтобы выяснить, есть ли нарушение законодательства о рекламе или нарушение закона о защите конкуренции. В зависимости от результатов предварительного исследования вы решите, как действовать дальше.

Нарушение закона О рекламе

 

Нарушение законодательства о рекламе. Нарушение закона о защите конкуренции

Специалисты ФАС России уполномочены запрещать рекламу, в которой имеется нарушение закона О рекламе. Законом «о рекламе» предусмотрено, что реклама должна быть добросовестной и достоверной. Кроме того, реклама не должна побуждать к совершению противоправных действий или призывать к насилию и жестокости; формировать негативное отношение к какой-либо группе населения; использовать иностранные слова и выражения, бранные слова, непристойные и оскорбительные образы (подробнее см. «Ст. 5-6 ФЗ «О рекламе», «Ст. 21-25 ФЗ «О рекламе»).

У внушительного и подробного перечня положений лишь один недостаток: ряд пунктов имеет расплывчатую или неоднозначную трактовку. Например, как можно убедиться, что реклама не оскорбляет чувства или не призывает к насилию? То, что производителю кажется остроумным, нестандартным и привлекающим внимание потребителя, может выглядеть нарушением в глазах целевой аудитории или законодательства. В делах этой категории для доказательства нарушения законодательства О рекламе или отстаивания прав самым надежным источником информации признаны результаты социологического исследования.

Применение социологических исследований при экспертизе рекламы

Проведение социологической экспертизы рекламы применяется в трех случаях.

1. До публичной трансляции. Если вы опасаетесь нарушить законодательство, то результаты социологического исследования позволяют определить, как целевая аудитория воспринимает рекламу, и выяснить, как текст и визуальные образы влияют на поведение покупателей. Заключение экспертизы может стать поводом для внесения изменений или фундаментом для защиты от необоснованных протестов конкурентов.

2. Для подачи заявления в суд. Если вы столкнулись с тем, что реклама конкурентов каким-либо образом нарушает ваши права, то вы можете обратиться в арбитражный суд или ФАС. Но перед этим необходимо собрать доказательства. Основой могут служить данные социологического исследования или лабораторного эксперимента.

3. После получения письма из ФАС или вынесения судебного решения. Если суд запретил вашу рекламу, вы готовы опротестовать решение, то необходимо усилить доказательную базу. Мнение потребителей – объективный критерий в отличие от оценки рекламного ролика глазами нескольких экспертов УФАС.

4. В качестве базы для рекламной кампании. Если вы хотите, чтобы обещания, сделанные в рекламном тексте, звучало надежно, их можно подкрепить результатами социологической экспертизы.

Методики, используемые Лабораторией социологической экспертизы Института социологии, полностью соответствуют требованиям государственных органов и стандартам качества социологических исследований. С одним из дел о введении потребителей в заблуждение посредством рекламы, для которого Лаборатория социологической экспертизы предоставила доказательства, вы можете познакомиться на нашем сайте. Компания «Нестле Россия» обратилось в Федеральную антимонопольную службу с претензией к рекламе детского питания Hipp. Также Лаборатория социологической экспертизы предоставляла данные для рекламной кампании Pepsi.

Другие примеры из практики применения социологических исследований в качестве доказательств в судах вы можете найти здесь, запросить через форму «Задать вопрос» или по телефону.

Чтобы получить более подробную информацию по вопросам: «соответствие и нарушение законов «о рекламе» и » о защите конкуренции«,
позвоните по телефонам:
8-800-500-97-95
8-499-662-97-95 (экспертный отдел).